Faculty and Staff

Tom Gennett

Department Head

Renee Falconer

Associate Department Head

Teaching Professors

Research Professors

Research Assistant Professors

Joint Appointments

Matt Beard, PHD

Matt Beard NREL page
Senior Research Fellow I – Material Science
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
303-384-6781
Matt.Beard@nrel.gov

Wade Braunecker, PhD

Wade Braunecker NREL page
Researcher IV – Chemistry
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
303-384-7616
Wade.Braunecker@nrel.gov

Todd Deutsch, PhD

Todd Deutsch NREL page
Researcher V – Chemistry
Chemistry & Nanoscience Center
Photoelectrochemical Hydrogen Production
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
303-275-3727
Todd.Deutsch@nrel.gov

Justin Johnson, PhD

Justin Johnson NREL page
Researcher VI – Chemistry
Chemistry and Nanoscience Center
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
303-384-6190
Justin.Johnson@nrel.gov

Bryan Pivovar, PhD

Bryan Pivovar NREL page
Group Research Manager III-Chemistry
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
303-275-3809
Bryan.Pivovar@nrel.gov

Daniel Ruddy, PhD

Daniel Ruddy’s NREL page
Inorganic & Materials Chemist
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
303-384-6322
dan.ruddy@nrel.gov

Affiliate Appointments

Samuel Bryan, PhD

Samuel Bryan’s PNNL page
Scientist V
Nuclear Chemistry & Engineering
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
(509) 375-5648
sam.bryan@pnnl.gov

Stosh Kozimor, PhD

Stosh Kozimor LANL page
Chemist, C – IIAC
Radioactive Isotopes
Los Alamos National Laboratory
505-667-1091
stosh@lanl.gov

Lieve Laurens , PhD

Senior Scientist II
National Bioenergy Center
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
303-330-4332
Lieve.laurens@nrel.gov

Joseph Meyer, PhD

Chief Scientist
Applied Limnology Professionals LLC
414 Anvil Way, Golden, CO 80401
303-524-4373
jsmeyer@alpscolorado.com

Kathleen S. Smith, PhD

Research Geochemist
Scientist Emeritus, U. S. Geological Survey
kathysmithgeochemist@gmail.com

Angela Stelson, PhD

Physicist
Communications Technology Laboratory
RF Technology Division
National Institute of Standards and Technology
(303) 497-6864
angela.stelson@nist.gov

Emeritus Faculty

Scott W. Cowley

Donald L. Macalady

E. Craig Simmons

Dean W. Dickerhoof

Patrick MacCarthy

Kent J. Voorhees

Ronald W. Klusman

Michael J. Pavelich

Thomas R. Wildeman

Donald Langmuir

Mark Seger

Staff

Megan Paulson

Department Manager & Graduate Program Coordinator
303-273-3637
mpaulson@mines.edu

Ed Dempsey

Instrument Engineer and Designer
edempsey@mines.edu

Samuel Nez

Undergraduate Program Coordinator and Office Manager
303-273-3610
samuelnez@mines.edu

Ramona Figueroa

Laboratory Coordinator
303-384-2572
rfigueroa@mines.edu

Joe Stranahan

Laboratory Coordinator
303-273-3611
jstranah@mines.edu